Surya Namaskara

Surya Namaskara or the Sun Salutation has a great energizing effect on the body, prana and mind. In Sanskrit, ‘Surya’ means the sun and ‘Namaskara’ means the salutation. Surya Namaskara consists of a series of yoga postures. There are 12 yoga poses performed in sequence. Surya Namskara is usually done in the morning during sunrise, facing the rising sun. It may also be done during sunset, again facing the setting sun.

Surya or the Sun God has been given great importance from the Vedic culture which sees divinity in the whole of creation. The Sun is called ‘Pratyaksha Narayana’ or God in the living form, which can be perceived by our naked eyes. The sun provides the energy that makes life possible on earth. Surya Namaskara is a form of worship to the Sun God, Surya. Each of the 12 poses has a specific mantra that the practitioner may optionally recite mentally. Each of those mantras is a name of the Sun-God, describing his glory.

  1. Pranamasana : Om Mitraya Namaha
  2. Hasta Uttanasana : Om Ravaye Namaha
  3. Pada Hastasana : Om Suryaya Namaha
  4. Ashwa Sanchalanasana : Om Bhanave Namaha
  5. Parvatasana : Om Khagaya Namaha
  6. Ashtanga Namaskara : Om Pushne Namaha
  7. Bhujangasana : Om Hiranya Garbhaya Namaha
  8. Parvatasana : Om Marichaye Namaha
  9. Ashwa Sanchalanasana : Om Adityaya Namaha
  10. Pada Hastasana : Om Savitre Namaha
  11. Hasta Uttanasana : Om Arkaya Namaha
  12. Pranamasana : Om Bhaskaraya Namaha

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s